top of page

Everything is S'More fun with you!

Now that it's the middle of February and I've shoveled more snow than I am tall. I live on a corner and my neighbor across the street and I play a game. We count who gets hit with more "sledge and sludge" from the cars driving while we shovel. Needless to say, we both loose. Last week, I got gray dirty snow spray all over me from the city truck that was salting. I showered and I could still feel it. I get that "seasonal personality disorder" every winter around this time and want to pull my hair out. It's not that I don't enjoy winter-I do. I sled, make snowmen, ski and can throw a mean snowball but it gets old fast. Staying in a house with 2 preschoolers who want out is exhausting. So I have been CRAVING summer. Heck, at this point, I would take a sunny day-no matter if it's still 20* out. I was on my pinterest account a few days ago and saw this cake and immediately bought the butane torch and needed to make this S'Mores Cake I found on the food blog 'Liv for Cake.' I thought about putting on shorts and a tank top to make it. I'm not kidding when I say that as soon as I got the torch today and didn't have to leave my house anymore, I rushed to make it. Also-NEW BAKING TOOLS!! <3 !!

So as usual I followed the directions, as directed but I did make a few adjustments as I went. I was a little worried this batter would be far too thick but it turned out to be awesome. I am not a Southern Belle so I do not keep buttermilk at my house but you can make your own easily-just add 1 tablespoon of white vinegar for every cup of milk you use!It's the perfect base for the rest of the sweetness to come. The cake is a bit crunchy on the edges and fluffy in the middle-almost like the perfect cookie. I did find that it baked for only 35 minutes in my oven and I probably should have taken it out even sooner. I know most recipes call for you to butter and flour your cake pans. I do this for precisely 1 cake. For the rest I use Pam's Baking Spray and it's a wonderful product that always works for me. Please be sure to spray over sink unless you like the oily film everywhere-afterall, it makes for some great sliding on your tile floors and having a dance party with your significant other or kids. (The kitchen is a great place for dancing!)

Then comes the 2 decadent layer of chocolate ganache (which I did add the additional Bailey's and a few small chunks of chocolate to give that smore's bite.) Heavy whipping is a staple in my kitchen because my son, Ty, loves whipped cream and a dollop goes a long way in trying to get this kid to eat a meal! Also, Bailey's is a staple because I have that 3 year son who I need to feed whipped cream on things in order to eat. Then comes the HOMEMADE MARSHMALLOW FLUFF. I love homemade fluff, it's sooo much better than store-bought. AND I added vanilla beans to give it a little more flavor punch. Whatever is left after the cake, feel free to eat the rest of the bowl because you will be tempted to. I was worried I wouldn't even have enough after Eric discovered it!

Now that all the parts are ready, it's time to assemble. As you can see, I put a dollop of fluff on the bottom of my cake plate to keep the cake in place. Then I put down the first cake layer, followed by chocolate ganache, next is another cake layer, then more ganache then the final cake layer. Once the cake is assembled, you get to "frost" with the marshmallow fluff. To create some texture, I used the back of the spoon and created waves and divets.

Now comes the fun part! I made the husband fill up my torch and I got to torching some fluff. It came out so pretty. From start to finish, this cake took 2 hours. <----That's awesome for how detailed this is and it's 2 hours of mostly letting your kitchenaid and oven do the work.

Tasting review: The marsmallow topping is so soft and has those charred bits and it's so yummy. The cake/ganache tastes better after you let it sit in the fridge for a hour or two. I will take the cake out of the oven a little earlier next time because it was a bit dry but it did have great flavor. I will make this again with some minor adjustments!

I understand that some people finding cooking and baking to be scary. I grew up cooking with my dad and baking with my mom. To me, the kitchen is a way to connect to someone and a way to show your love. I am always willing to answer any and all questions to give you some more confidence in the kitchen. If it doesn't turn out (and sometimes, it won't-still happens to me) there is always pizza and ice cream! You will gain more and more confidence as you go. Let's go on this journey together! In the spirit of togetherness and encourage more interaction, I am going to ask you to comment here or on my facebook post of this cake and give me something, ANYTHING-baked to make. I will do the research, work, baking and then come drop it off to you. You can tell us honestly what you think of it! I do ask that you are somewhat local so I can drive it to you. Commenting for this part will be done as of Monday (grocery shopping day!). I can't wait to see what ideas you come up with. Thanks again for reading!

bottom of page