top of page

EAT ME! tea party favor cookies

If you read the last blog post, you got to see all of the details of the cupcakes for Ashley's bridal shower. I also did the one of the favors-cookies! You know I've slowly am dipping my toes into the realm of cookie making and this one, I wanted to try a new technique I've done with lots of my paint and stain DIYS. STENCILING!!!!

First I bake the cookies. I did the 5 inch tea-bag cutter and a teapot cookie cutter as well with my extra dough.

Once they were cooled, I let them sit out for around 6 hours on paper towel to absorb any grease. After that, I outlined the cookies with candy melts to get a good firm base.

Then I flooded them with royal icing to match. The light blue was inspired by the shower invitation!

I let them harden overnight and then mixed up a very thick royal icing from a new recipe! I wanted it to be bright white but if you want to color it, that would be fun too! Now the next step-stenciling. I picked out a stencil that fit with the size of the cookie.

First, lay your stencil down.

I used a plastic spatula from an art set as my spatula for this because I liked the control of the smaller size. I covered the stencil and scraped off any excess with still leaving a good layer of icing.

Then I held my breathe and removed the stencil-pulling up from left to right so it doesn't move! Then I had this beautiful product!

I let the cookies harden. Then I put blue baker's twine through the whole in the cookie I had made to give it that teabag look. Once hardened, I put them in these super cute berry container's I prepped earlier in the week. I had blue containers with white filler and white containers with blue filler!

I tied them up, attached a tag I bought off Etsy and printed myself and the favors were complete! These were a big hit at the shower. Even Andrew-the groom to be-called me over to ask how I did it! It was so much fun and I grew to really love the stencil effect! I hope it serves as some inspiration for you!

It was a a very fun day and I'm glad I got to work out a new technique! Several of you who I've seen in person have complimented me for "up-ing" my game on my desserts. Thank you so much! It's been fun to get back into the world of baking after following around my kids for a few years. I've had some other successful baking moments (my easter carrot cake cheesecake!) this year and some failures (my cannoli's). Some days I bake to find comfort in the smells of my favorite things. Some days I bake to inspire others or make others smile. Being in the kitchen makes me feel complete. Giving someone something I made and having them smile makes me so crazy proud and happy. I hope reading this blog at the very least makes you smile. I am so lucky to have people who I love to bake for. It's my way to connecting to people.

I am starting to plan my 2nd annual cupcake party for the boys and their friends this coming summer. I am hoping to do it earlier in the year to cut down on heat but it was so much fun. If you have any thoughts of what we might want to try, I'd love to hear some ideas!

bottom of page