top of page

PIZZA my heart <3

I know some of you have wives who should be celebrating Mother's Day soon. I read this hilarious instagram post a few weeks ago about how dads always get to do their thing (usually golf) for Father's Day while the moms somehow get a sketchy kid-made breakfast and some "cute" art and have to go celebrate other moms or still have a day chasing their kids around while your husband is "helping" for Mother's Day. This year-I am putting my foot down! I work hard. First of all, I had to be pregnant and it was not easy and def. not a good look for me-I'm 5'1, there was no where for that kid to go. I also had to go through a c-section each and take care of them hours after getting my insides cut open. I go to every doctor appointment, hospital visit, school drop off, pick up, schedule play dates, schedule our lives!, play every sport imaginable with them, wash all of the stains out of their clothes, pick up endless amounts of sh*t-figuratively and literally every single day so I'm taking one day for me. Don't get me wrong, I love my children to pieces and would not have it any other way BUT I don't get things like raises or promotions when I'm kicking ass-I get something else to teach or another thing to conquer. And I will! Being a mom is hella exhausting. Rewarding, yes but somedays you just want your 3 year old to thank you for scrubbing that favorite Captain America shirt clean so he can wear it for the 3rd day in a row. Or you want someone to just notice that successfully are raising your kids not to be complete jerks-that is HARD. This is where I am. I hear it gets better when your kids grow and hopefully that is true. I am trying to instill in them manners and appreciation but somehow their manners for me get lost but they act like angels to their teachers....Hm.... Also, husbands note-please take photos of us with our kids without us asking. We get that we may not have the perfect hair or makeup but I want that shot of me cheering my kid on or getting muddy in the yard just as much-if not more-than you.

So to help all of you men out there I put together a list (at the request of one of the dad's in Charlie's preschool-gold star to that guy!) of things she actually wants as a gift or to do for Mother's Day. Yes, there will be pizza after the list.

1. Fulfill her craving without her having to ask-I phrase it this way because by us having to ask, it takes away the magic. For me, that means, a pint-of-the-month giftcard to my favorite local ice creamery, Treat Dreams in Ferndale *ahem, Eric.* For your person, think back to things she loves that she would feel guilty getting herself. Is it a fancy restaurant she'd love to go? Is it a class-there are always cool ones at Eastern Market! Everyone has something that just makes them blissfully happy! If you know her well enough, you can achieve this. Don't ask, just give!

2. Etsy-go on that magical website and you can find something anyone would love! A favorite I've gotten from Eric are birthstone necklaces with my kid's birthstones. Her favorite band or team? Find a vintage t-shirt. Does she love to cook? This adorable cutting board with a scanned recipe from her mom or grandma.

3. Check something off her to-do list she hates-For me, it's mowing the lawn. I would rather complete 200 loads of laundry then have to mow my corner lot. For her, it might be cleaning the house, preparing the kids lunches and checking homework, or scheduling appointments-because it never is as fast as you think it is.

4. Time away-I know this sounds kinda awful but sometimes a break to rejuvenate ourselves is necessary. I don't get coffee breaks. There was a period of time where I was jealous of Eric's commute. This may sound awful but she probably needs it. With kids, she can probably not even go to the bathroom without someone knocking on the door or little fingers appearing under the door. I'm not saying to rent her a hotel room for the night (though, not a bad idea!) but give her an hour or two to shower, read a book and not do a chore or take care of someone else. Moms have mom guilt and we do not give ourselves breaks unless we are actually dying so please, just give us some space, pour a glass of wine and leave me to cuddle my dogs in quiet.

I hope that list helps a bit. I know it's easy to buy a card and tell her you'll take her out sometime but I'm gonna be real with you-it just doesn't cut it. I'm sure she works her ass off and she balances a lot at once. And you know she makes sure Father's Day is a great day for you so do this for her and yourself. She will remember and sing your praises to her friends and you'll be her dream man (Still and/or again!)

Now onto the pizza! Eric and I took a cooking class at Sur La Table a few years ago on grilling pizza. If you've never taken their classes, SIGN UP NOW!!! Also, you get a coupon on the end of the class so get on that. Since that class, Eric and I have perfected our grilled pizza recipe. We've used it for family gatherings, nights were you don't want to turn on the oven in the summer and just because it's so tasty!

Dough recipe and instructions: Makes 2 pounds of enough for 4 extra large pizzas or 8 medium pizzas. Medium feeding 2 adults.

1/2 cup warm water

4 1/2 teaspsoons active dry yeast

In a cup or bowl, combine and gently stir. Put plastic wrap over top and let stand for 5-7 minutes. It will be foamy when ready.

6 1/2 cups of all purpose flour or bread flour-I use A.P.

1 Tablespoon kosher salt

2 cups water

6 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil

In a stand mixer with dough hook, combine flour and salt. Slowly add the activated yeast mixture while mixing on low. Mix to combine. Then add the water and E.V.O.O. and knead the dough until sooth and elastic-around 5 minutes. (Tip-I don't use the dough hook that came with the Kitchenaid stand mixer, I use a coated dough hook that can be washed in the dish washer. I don't like the metallic taste of the other one!)

Once dough comes together, put in a extra large bowl that is coated with either E.V.O.O. or I use cooking oil spray. Put a damp towel on top and let rise for 90 minutes or until double in size. When the dough is ready, use a bench scraper or knife to cut into 1/8ths. Using your hand, form a ball with the dough and if freezing, wrap each into plastic wrap and put into a labeled freezer bag and pop in the freezer until use. I would suggest you use it within 30-45 days. When wanting to use it, pull out the dough and let it come to temperature before rolling out.

When ready to make pizza, light your grill. Roll out your dough with a rolling pin on a floured surface. We do our elongated instead of circles because it's easier to fit 2 on the grill that way. But make it whatever shape you want and whatever I use cornmeal on the bottom of a sheet pan and put the rolled dough while gathering ingredients for your sauce and toppings.

Next, grill your dough without the toppings directly on the grill. Grill both sides until you see light grill marks. Take off the dough and add your toppings. I make my own pesto and red sauce in the summer once my herbs are growing well. But for this, I used store bought :( I do reccomend the Buitoni Pesto-it's great and we use it for Chicken Pesto Sandwhiches a few times a month). Now that they are assembled, grill (we use grill mats for this stage) and let sit until the cheese is melted. Then cut and enjoy!

Well I gave you lots of interesting tips and tricks. If you grill your own pizza, think of me. TTFN-ta ta for now!

bottom of page